Autumn Series Round 3 31/08/2014 – Report

A beautiful sunny morning greeted the 11 riders for the 3rd event in the Autumn series. However, a westerly wind did the riders no favours as they struggled to match the times they had put out during the season.

Fastest Nomad of the day was Andy Saunders who completed the circuit in 24:38. Fastest rider overall was Jason Stuart with a 23:48. Ben Wilson had perhaps the quickest abandon of the season when his freehub broke on the start line – the credit for the 5 metres that he negotiated should go to pusher-off Nigel Tooke. Thanks go to Nigel and timekeeper Steve Smith for looking after us all.

The final event of the Autumn series takes place on the Whitwell circuit next Sunday at 9am.

Note: To qualify for Autumn series points in the Sporting Allrounder competition, riders need to complete one event at both courses. Only Andy Herbert has registered a time on both courses so far.

Nomads: Andy Saunders 24:38; Nick Hickman 26:11; Mark Desborough 26:12; Andy Herbert 26:37; Nigel Wilson 29:23; Leanne Cutler 30:27; Ben Wilson dnf

Jason Stuart 23:48; Lindz Barral 25:05; Tom Bishop 25:12; Darren Carter 29:09.