Club Championship (Norlond) 50 mile Time Trial 10/05/15 – Review

7 Nomads lined up on the F1B/50 course to compete in the club 50 mile TT championship, including the defending Champion Nick Hickman, and 3 débutantes at the distance in Leanne Cutleer, James Spence and Nigel Wilson. The course was a variant on previous F1/50 courses due to the roadworks further north, and took in 2 laps between Tempsford and Baldock on the A1.

Conditions were blustery with a strong South Easterly wind, which meant that the riders faced a tough head/cross wind for the first and third quarters of the TT, but never quite got a tail wind on the return legs (in what’s known as a typical cyclists wind, i.e. taking with one hand, but not quite giving with the other, instead dangling agonisingly just out of reach).

The fastest Nomad of the day was John Watson who did enough to hold off Julian Pegg by 2 min 31 to take the 2015 Nomads club 50 championship, in what has been an impressive return season to time trialling for John.

Of the débutantes, all three put in impressive times to beat their respective VTTA Standard times (and in the process set a new PB by default), but the most notable ride came from Leanne Cutler who roared home in 2:16:16 seconds to set a new Nomads Ladies 50 mile TT scratch record, improving on the previous record by 4 mins 39 seconds (previously held by C Farquharson), and in the process set a new club VTTA standard record of + 11:07 (no previous record).

John Watson F1B50 Leanne Cutler F1B50

John and Leanne on course. Photos from John Pick

There was also great support with several Nomads lining various parts of the course to shout encouragement, including one who was armed with a cowbell (it is unclear if any cows were harmed in the acquisition of said cowbell).

Back in the HQ, there were murmers from certain Nomads of “Never again”, but time does funny things to the memory……

The event was provisionally won (pending result conformation) by Matthew Smith of Team Velovelocity in 1:43:48.

Nomads Results:

John Waston – 2:03:24, Julian Pegg – 2:05:58, James Gomm 2:12:48, James Spence 2:13:24, Nick Hickman 2:14:17, Leanne Cutler – 2:16:16 (CR), Nigel Wilson 2:18:10