Briercliffe 10 – 9 May 2017

Time Keeper: Frank Turner
Assistant Time Keeper: Leanne Cutler
Sign On, Reporter: James McPherson
Prop: Steve Smith
Event Organiser, Course Check, Prop and Roving Marshal: Nick Hickman
Start Line Queue Manager: Ethan Dynes
Number Collection: Catherine Jones
Photographer: Michael Webb (report contains a very small selection, a full gallery is available)

A good size field of twenty one testers met up for the regular Briercliffe 10, with some having their debut at the “best way to spend a Tuesday evening for literally miles around”.  It was bright and calm, albeit that tricky temperature of 10 degrees invoking the debate of, “is it cold or not”?

Nick Hickman turned up on his Brompton to marshal, claiming he could not race as he “had been on his bike four times that day already”.   He explained to us there was no wind to make any difference as we gazed over the fields at the fast spinning windmills.  He was as usual correct, it was possibly the best conditions since the 2-up.

006 Ethan Dynes and 008 Leanne Cutler also came to help, ensuring that 007 Jason Dynes was set off correctly on his top secret power-testing mission.  Leanne was under strict orders from her Coach not to race but to taper for a double header 2 x 50 miles TT weekend.

David Summerell  provided retail opportunities with the very modern idea of a pop up bike shop at the start – see picture and if any item takes your fancy please contact him.

Pop-up Shop

James Bainbridge turned up on his “fast bike” but was seen frantically pumping up tyres as the last tester was sent on their way and so was unfortunately unable to compete.

Simon Doyle was the fastest private tester. Catherine Jones was the fastest female Nomad,  and rightly gained a loud cheer as her result below the 30 minutes mark (“evens” as it is called for reasons that no-one seems to know) was read out.  Roger Bamberough also went sub-30 for the first time, and Paul Greenfield posted a “long 27” on his TT debut.  James McPherson was the fastest male Nomad.

Simon Doyle (TSE)

Catherine Jones

James McPherson

Thank you to Michael Webb for the fabulous and comprehensive photos.  Also many thanks to Frank Turner and Leanne Cutler for time keeping; to Steve Smith and Nick Hickman for sharing Prop Duties; to Catherine Jones for ensuring we got all the race numbers back; and to Ethan Dynes for organising the queue at the Start Line.

Event Crew

Full results below (all HNCC unless otherwise stated):

Simon Doyle (TSE) 00:24:48
James McPherson 00:25:01
Lindz Barral (JCA-Equipe Velo) 00:25:51
Peter Gell (BRCC) 00:26:20
Scott Horwood 00:26:49
Jason Dynes 00:27:18
Paul Greenfield 00:27:53
Nigel Tooke 00:27:53
Chris Corney 00:28:12
John Martin 00:28:12
Matthew Sayers 00:28:17
Nigel Wilson 00:28:29
Manuel Manrique 00:28:57
David Summerell 00:29:16
Catherine Jones 00:29:31
David Ledgerton 00:29:37
Roger Bamberough 00:29:55
Richard Serradhino (unattached) 00:30:09
Mark Loosely 00:30:32
Steve Stanbury 00:31:17
Stephen Oliver 00:34:26