Briercliffe 10 – 24 April 2018

Event Sec: Nick Hickman
Principal Time Keeper: Frank Turner
Assistant Time Keeper: Julian Pegg
Sign on and Prop: Michael Webb
Event Reporter: Paul Riley

The healthy turn outs for the Tuesday evening TT series continued with 24 riders on the start sheet to tackle the classic Briercliffe 10 course.  Various excuses and blatant disregard of Rule #9 reduced this to 19 on the evening.  Thank you to those that passed on their apology ahead of time though, that is much appreciated.  Despite the advent of Autumn following last week’s 5 days of Summer, some impressive times were posted.  We know of some Course PBs although with a number of other newer riders present, there could be more; let us know if we’ve missed you out.

Fastest time of the evening went again to new Nomad Ryan Witchell, overtaking his minute man Nick Hickman (riding medium-gear fixed) after just 1.35 miles and achieving a superb “long 21”.  Marc Diplock took 2nd place in the Nomads competition with a Course PB time. The women were led by Leanne Cutler (Course PB) followed by Catherine Jones and Helen Riley who managed to knock over 6 minutes off her previous best time which was a 2-Up. The author has some sympathy with the principle of being hampered by a slower 2-Up partner doesn’t he Nigel Wilson?

The mid-field battles proved tighter than ever with the majority of the riders sandwiched into the 27 to 29 minute times. On this occasion the perpetual “Battle of the Nigels” was won by Tooke, finishing just 10 seconds ahead of Wilson. Positions in this competitive sector of the field will surely chop and change over the season as some riders’ training plans kick in and others more beer-based schedules take their toll!

Time keeping duties were handled by Frank Turner & Julian Pegg. Michael Webb managed sign on and pushed off.   Simon Young declined to ride, despite the many invitations from the field of riders, choosing instead to add his support on the course.

Hitchin Nomads CC Event


L Cutler 27.44, C Jones 29.45, H Riley 35.49


R Witchell 21.58, M Diplock 25.07, N Tooke 27.46, N Wilson 27.56, M Lippard 28.02, M Manrique 28.03, P Riley 28.39, N Hickman 29.02, C Corney 29.29, C Hopper 29.14, D Heath 33.06, C Brabrook DNS (Apols), S Hayes DNS (Apols), M Loosely DNS (Apols), P Wright DNS (Apols), D Summerell DNS

Private Time Trials

J Stuart (CCA) 23.31, L Barral (JCA-Equipe Velo) 24.50, G Osborn (BRCC) 24.59, M Case (BRRT) 26.10, G Laming (BRCC) 28.28


Briercliffe 10 – 17 April 2018

Principal Time Keeper: Frank Turner
Assistant Time Keeper: Julian Pegg
Event Sec and Prop: Nick Hickman

HNCC Women

Cutler, Leanne 27:50
Matthews, Ingrid 27:51
Ruggles, Ella (Junior) 34:49


Witchell, Ryan 22:07
Hayes, Sam 23:45
McPherson, James 24:12
Diplock, Marc 25:15
Robinson, Steve 25:42
Tooke, Nigel 27:05
Hopper, Christopher 27:15
Wilson, Nigel 27:32
Wright, Paul =28:02
Ruggles, Brian =28:02
Riley, Paul 28:12
Corney, Chris 29:40
Loosely, Mark 29:42
Summerell, David 30:35
Moralee, Mike 32:30
Heath, David 32:49

Private Time Trials

Barral, Lindz (JCA-Equipe Velo) 24:25
Poole, Simon (unattached) 27:28
Laming, Graham (BRCC) 28:32


Muddy monsters is a fun introduction to cycle racing to be held on Butts Close, Hitchin on Saturday 28th April.  The event has been re-scheduled from the 3rd January when it was cancelled owing to snow.

This event is ideal for young people who love riding their bikes and can manage to ride consistently for up to 15 minutes (10 minutes for the younger riders).  Age categories are: Under 6, under 8, under 10, under 12, under 14 and under 16.

MM1Each rider gets the chance to compete in three races: sprint, endurance and handicap.  There will be separate races for older and younger age groups, although some age groups may be combined.

The event is open to all, but parents MUST accompany and register their children to ride. Registration is on the day only and costs £4.00.  Registration will open from 9:15:am

The first race is at 10:00 (practice on the course from 9:30) and we aim to finish the last race at 12:00 for prize giving.

Participants require (and will not be allowed to ride unless they have):

  • MM2A bike that fits them in good mechanical order with two working brakes (BMX, Mountain bikes, Cyclo cross, road or hybrid bikes will all be acceptable – some tread on the tyre to give traction on grass is ideal)
  • A properly fitting crash helmet

Sensible, non-baggy clothing and gloves or mitts are strongly recommended.


The course is short walk or ride from the centre of Hitchin. PLEASE NOTE THERE IS NO PARKING FOR COMPETITORS ON BUTTS CLOSE FIELD. However there are several car parks within a short distance:

  • Hitchin Swimming Pool (pay and display) off Fishponds Road (overflow car park across the road may be open if this is full)Christchurch Car Park (pay and display) off Bedford Road
  • The Lairage multi-story off the A505 next to Waitrose
  • There is also some on-street parking in the surrounding area for those arriving early.

Briercliffe 10 Cancelled – 10 April 2018

Due to a road closure in Shefford the event is unable to use the 1U/10B “Roadworks 10” course.  Due to temporary traffic lights on the approach to Old Warden the 1U/10 “Classic Briercliffe” course also cannot be used.  The event is therefore cancelled.

Next week’s event uses the Classic course and starts at 19:00.  Maximum 30 riders.

Briercliffe 10 – 3 April 2018

Event Sec. and Sign On: Nick Hickman
Principal Time Keeper: Frank Turner
Assistant Time Keeper: Leanne Cutler
Apprentice Time Keeper: Julian Pegg
Prop: Simon Doyle (Team Sales Engine)

Course: 1U/10B (“Road Works 10”)

Helped by decent conditions and several on their Easter holidays a remarkably good size field of twenty two riders took part.  Even more remarkably (given that there were some making their TT or course debut) no one got lost.  James McPherson took the honours for fastest ride of the evening, eclipsed only by Ella Ruggles who set a new baseline Club record for her age and gender.  It is to be confirmed whether this counts as a “junior”, “juvenile” or “school persons” record when our Records Officer has consulted the archives to determine how these are classified (they haven’t been used for very many years).

Thanks as ever to our Event Crew – especially to Simon Doyle from Team Sales Engine who made the mistake of coming to say hello to the Event Sec. and was immediately drafted in as Prop.  Julian Pegg began his apprenticeship as Time Keeper, being shown by Frank Turner and Leanne Cutler which buttons to click on the watch and how to record the results.


HNCC Women: Ella Ruggles 32:19

HNCC Men: James McPherson 23:26; Ross Thomson 24:48; Tom Weir 25:09; Steve Robinson 25:14; David Rickels 25:33; Christopher Hopper 26:04; Roger Taylor 26:08; Paul Wright 26:24; Paul Greenfield 26:21; Brian Ruggles 26:38; Nigel Tooke 26:55; Nigel Wilson 27:06; Mark Loosely 28:12; Ian Oxton 28:29; Stuart Hutchings 29:01; Chris Corney 29:12; David Summerell 29:16; Stephen Oliver 31:14

Private Time Trials: Lindz Barral (JCA-Equipe Velo) 23:37; Graham Laming (Beds Road CC) 28:27; David Heath (Beds Road CC)31:52

Next week’s event is at the same time on the same course.  A call for riders and crew will be made via the Club Facebook group a few days ahead.


Please call out your number as you approach the finish line.  This makes it much easier for the Time Keepers to record your result.

In the interests of your safety and that of other riders, you MUST NOT make a U-turn within sight of the Time Keepers after crossing the finish line.  Another rider might be right behind you travelling at speed.  The Event Crew reserves the right to disqualify any rider seen making such a manoeuvre.