Briercliffe 10 – 14 August 2018

Principal Time Keeper: Frank Turner
Event Sec, Sign On, Assistant Time Keeper and Reporter: Leanne Cutler
Count Down Assistant : Ethan Dynes
Prop: Julian Pegg

Promoted for an on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under its rules and regulations

This Event used the “Roadworks 10” (1U/10B) course.

18 riders signed on the dotted line for the final Tuesday evening F and F (fun and frolics? … fast and furious?… insert your own description here).  With ‘The Moose’ a DNS it was the responsibility of another 2nd claim HNCC/TSE rider, Gavin Ashfield, to prop up the field.  Don’t ask me about wind direction.  I have no idea but it remained relatively warm and calm (we have been very lucky with the weather this season, perhaps due to lack of ‘TSE tandem’).  Ella Ruggles got proceedings to a flying start sporting her recently purchased skin suit.  Nick Hickman’s Brompton, all dressed up with clip on tri bars, did not make its much anticipated season debut due to a technical malfunction and was replaced by his trusty medium gear 72″ fixed.  Another that did not make it to the start line was Paul French who punctured following sign on.  He wasn’t even wearing Paul Wright’s unlucky pink overshoes.  Nobody made any unscheduled detours except for the ‘count down assistant’ who required a quick visit to the nearby public house once all riders had/were pushed off.  Given he is 9 yrs old it wasn’t for a beer!

Fastest of the evening was Jason Stuart (CCA) despite his rear light trying to make a break for it early on in his ride.  Quickest Nomad was Gavin Ashfield.  Congratulations to David Heath who achieved his season target of ‘evens’ on a 10.  His first words after crossing the line were ‘I feel sick’… well that’s how you know you left it all on the road David.   Ella Ruggles edged her way closer to breaking ‘evens’.  Next season she will no doubt achieve this.


HNCC (Women)

Ella Ruggles (Junior) 30:39

HNCC (Men)

Gavin Ashfield 23:19; Andy Saunders 24:02; Brian Ruggles 25:05; Nigel Tooke 25:53; Matt Lippard 25:59; Stuart Hutchings 27:29; Nick Hickman 27:42; Paul Wright 28:13; Chris Corney 28:17; Christopher Wilson 28:32; Stephen Oliver 28:54; David Summerell 29:09; David Heath 29:33

Private Time Trials

Jason Stuart 22:09 (CC Ashwell); Lindz Barral (JCA-Equipe Velo) 23:21; Mick Case (BRRT) 24:33; Paul French (BRRT) DNF

Next Event

Our next Club Time Trial uses the fast F1B/10 course (Tempsford to Biggleswade Sainsbury’s RAB and back along the A1) on Sunday 9th September 2018.  Look out for call for entries on Facebook soon.  There will be no entry on the day.



Event Cancellation – 2 September 2018

The 10 miles Time Trial on Sunday 2nd September using the F1B/10 course is cancelled.  At the time of writing, the Event using this course on 9th September is expected to go ahead, subject to the potential major roadworks not having started and there being sufficient Event Crew available.  The full schedule of Time Trial Events can be found here.

Briercliffe 10 – 7 August 2018

Principal Time Keeper: Frank Turner
Event Sec, Sign On and Assistant Time Keeper: Nick Hickman
Prop: Steve Smith

Promoted for an on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under its rules and regulations

This Event used the “Roadworks 10” (1U/10B) course.

Hitchin Nomads

Andy Saunders 23:43; Mark Desborough 24:04; Tom Weir 24:07 (inc. 62 secs late start penalty); Steve Robinson 24:43; Chris Brabrook 24:57; Nigel Tooke 25:46; Paul Wright 27:06; Chris Corney 27:46; Mark Loosely 29:01; David Summerell 29:07; David Heath 30:20 (inc. extra detour)

Private Time Trials

Lindz Barral (JCA-Equipe Velo) 23:23

Next Event

Tuesday 14th August 18:30, using the 1U10/B course again.  Entry via the poll to be posted on the Club’s Facebook Group.

Briercliffe 10 – 31 July 2018

Principal Time Keeper: Frank Turner
Event Sec, Sign On and Assistant Time Keeper: Leanne Cutler
Prop: Paul Riley
Assistant Prop: A Bath Towel
Injured Hero: Nigel Wilson
Hero’s Chauffeur: Ben Wilson
Start Line Banter: Simon Doyle
Reporter: Various anonymous sources

Promoted for an on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under its rules and regulations

“Conditions were beautiful.  Thanks to the Time Trial gods.”

“I knew it was good when for the first time I got round without being caught by Matt Lippard.  I needed a PB and 40 seconds faster than last week to do it.”

“Delighted to set a PB on the last test on this 10 course for the season.”

“I gave Dave some pointers at work and he repaid me with a 47 second thrashing on one of the best Briercliffe debuts I’ve seen for a while.  Chapeau!  I hope we can sign him up for more TT fun next season.”

“Edging my way to a personal course best but that’s for 2019 now.”

“I did it on my aero road bike as my TT bike is getting serviced.   Which means I’m depressingly poorer and no better for having a specific bike for time trials.”

“Newly installed premium-quality, ceramic bearings on front wheel must have helped.  Need to fit some to knees and hips next.”

“Having a proper 10-miles warm up before I start seems to be working.”

“Saying goodbye to the classic Briercliffe course ended the love hate relationship with the same fondness of leaving your family after Christmas.  You’ve had some ups and downs, but are looking forward to meeting up again next year.”

“Good idea on the compiling the report from quotes.  It would have been a shame to have no report with such a big field.”

“Thank you Leanne, Paul and Frank for putting on the event and also to the Nomads out to support.”

Hitchin Nomads

Women: Ella Ruggles (Junior) 32:09

Men: Tom Weir 24:02, Mark Desborough 24:51, Sam Hayes 25:08, Nick Hickman 25:32, Chris Brabrook 26:00, Brian Ruggles 26:14, Matt Lippard 26:34, Paul Fletcher 27:28, Paul Wright 27:53, Steve Smith 29:20, Chris Corney 29:22, Mark Loosely 29:29, Stephen Oliver 31:01, Andy Saunders DNF

Private Time Trials

Jason Stuart (CCA) 22:57, Lindz Barral (JCA-Equipe Velo) 23:57, Mick Case (BRRT) 26:17, Dave Rees (unattached) 28:33,

Next Event

The “Roadworks 10”.  Tuesday 7th August at 18:30.  Sign on at the Finish Line from 18:00.  A call for entries will be made via a poll on Facebook as usual, on Thursday.