Briercliffe 10 – 18 July 2017

Frank Turner: Time Keeper
Leanne Cutler: Event Organiser, Sign on and Assistant Time Keeper
Michael Webb: Prop
Nigel Tooke: Reporter

Nine Nomads and three guest riders took part in the Nelson Mandela Day Briercliffe 10 event.

Conditions were a warm 22°C with a steady easterly breeze providing a tougher than usual challenge going through Southill but an easier run past Shuttleworth and a steady blast along Growers.

It’s not easy to ascertain if Nelson Mandela was a big cycling fan but the following quotes suggest he may have been, interspersed with what was overheard on the evening (perhaps).

“After climbing a great hill, one only finds that there are many more hills to climb.” – NM

“I’ve cracked Vinegar Hill – and the Galibier.  Vinegar Hill was harder” – Nigel Wilson

“Lead from the back – and let others believe they are in front” – NM

“Lead from the back – and let others believe they are in front” – Steve Smith

“It enables me to go to bed with an enriching feeling in my soul and the belief that I am changing myself” – NM

“I’m knackered” – Michael Webb

Well done to the fastest Nomad Mark Desborough with a short 25 and to Lindz Barral who produced the quickest ride of the evening just nipping under 24 minutes.

Hitchin Nomads Event:

Mark Desborough 25.10; Nigel Tooke 26.33; Nigel Wilson 27.08; John Martin 27.47; Manuel Manrique 27.55; Chris Corney 28.04; Mark Loosley 29.51; Steve Smith 30.43; Stephen Oliver 32.02

Private Time Trials:

Lindz Barral (JEV) 23.58; Mick Case (BRCC) 25.51; Chris Wilson (BRCC)  29.47



Committee Meeting Minutes 26 June 2017

In an effort to be open and transparent regarding Committee business, decisions and actions, the draft minutes of the 26 June 2017 Committee Meeting are attached:

Committee Meeting Minutes 26 June 2017

Note: The minutes of Committee meetings must be ratified by the Committee and then signed as being a true and accurate record, which procedure is enacted at the next Committee meeting, on 24 July. The minutes of the most recent meeting therefore are provided here for general information only, may be subject to amendment, and should not be read as being a final document.

Briercliffe 10 mile time trial – 4 July 2017

This week’s must see review.

A rather muggy evening greeted a dozen riders in this week’s episode of the “Briercliffe 10”.  The set was dressed beautifully with the addition of a great big Airlander Airship, which Michael Webb had designs on “taking out” in some form of “Independence Day” (spot the link folks – what date is it – come on, keep up….) special effect spectacular.

He was discouraged, on the basis that although “it was big” it was also “far away”.

Conditions were a bit “sticky” on the Growers but relatively quick in the approach to Southill and through the village.  It could have been a very rapid night, but it was not quite to be.

First on stage was Roy Robinson (1st claim TSE), clocking his quickest Briercliffe time for 3 years.  The ensemble cast then performed with vim and vigour, sticking to their lines beautifully daaaaarling.  Chris Brabrook put in a tour de force performance to crack the 26 minute barrier with Tom Weir (1st claim University of Swansea) claiming the curtain call for the HNCC riders.  Of the troubadours, who brought such panache to proceedings, Lindz Barral edged out Mssrs Doyle and Weir for increasingly favourable reviews in The Stage followed by Shampoo at the Garrick.  (Paul Riley did mention something along the lines of going for a bimble to the White Horse).

To cap things off, Michael Webb almost “did a Cutler” to a couple of bikes at the finish line.  Note to riders, do not lie expensive bikes sunny-side down in the long grass. The props department will have a hissy-fit.  Simon Doyle was then “informed” that he had volunteered to write up this nonsense.  So, in essence, if you want a sensible write up don’t leave it to me or Simon Young to do.

HNCC Luvvies
Thomas Weir 24.43
Julian Pegg 25.38
Chris Brabrook 25.45
Nigel Tooke 26.42
Chris Corney, 27.55
Manuel Manrique, 28.49
Paul Riley, 29.03
Derek Thom, 29.18
Roy Robinson 29.45

Private Auditions
Lindz Barral JEV 24.16
Simon Doyle, TSE 24.41
Mick Case, BRCC 26.21

Credits (cue music to Crossroads)

Executive Producer/Miss Dianne, Leanne Cutler
Equity generation, Ethan Dynes
Dolly Grip/Stunt Monkey/Benny Michael Webb
Script Editor/Brad Pitt body-double Simon Doyle
Frank, Himself.
Guest Star, Nick Hickman (still not managed to find his house and has been riding his bike for 327 hours now).

JEV = JCA Equipe Velo
TSE = Team Sales Engine
BRCC = Beds Road CC
USw = University of Swansea

Dave Gudgin 25 Miles TT – 27 June 2017

Time Keeper: Frank Turner
Sign On and Assistant Time Keeper: Leanne Cutler
Prop and Photography: Michael Webb
Chief Umbrella Holder: Nigel Wilson
Event Organiser: Nick Hickman
Reporter: Paul Riley

With the rain setting in, six riders took to the start line for the last round of the Dave Gudgin 25 series, including the annual “Clive Collins Challenge” refreshment stop at the Hare & Hounds on the 2nd lap through Old Warden.

Nick Morgan had a slow speed tumble prior to signing on when his hand slipped off his carbon base bar due to the rain and lack of bar tape. Now before certain of you fall about laughing at your team mate’s 2 mph crash, there is a reasonably serious lesson to be learnt here, as a small amount of slightly less aero bar tape on the bar ends would aid grip in damp conditions. Nick made the sensible decision to pull out given the likelihood of his hands slipping off the bars at speeds your reporter can only dream of achieving.

There then commenced a series of punctures which wiped half the field (ok, so only 3 of us) with Chris Corney puncturing at the start line, Paul Riley hearing the hiss of air just before the first climb of Shuttleworth (yeah, right did anyone actually see it?) and Nick Senechal discovering a flat front as rounded G&M Grower’s RAB for the second time.

This left only 2 members, Nick Hickman & Mark Collins to take the “Half Pint Challenge” at the second pass of The Hare & Hounds, with Mark pipping Nick with a time of a shade over 10 seconds.

As to the other race, Mark Collins was fastest Nomad, posting a 1:10:58, which was highly respectable given the conditions.  Nick Hickman came home with 1:14:20 on his Medium Gear Fixed, with pictorial evidence of his “souplesse” abounding.  Lindz Barral was quickest on the night with an excellent 1:03:26.


Lindz Barral, JCA-Equipe Velo

Extra special thanks also need to go to Frank Turner and Leanne Cutler for Timekeeping; Michael Webb for Propping and Photography; Nigel Wilson for some stylish umbrella holding; and Sue Clifford Smith, Ethan Dynes & Chris Brabrook for spectating duties.  [Editor: I lost track of who got the beers in, or even who held mine up for me.  It was all a bit of a wet blur.  But thank you.]

Well done everyone for showing up on such a grim evening.


Time Keeper, Frank Turner


Hitchin Nomads CC Event

M Collins 1.10.58, N Hickman 1.14.20, N Senechal DNF, P Riley DNF, C Corney DNF.

Private Time Trials

L Barral (Equipe Velo) 1.03.26

Committee Meeting Minutes 22 May 2017

In an effort to be open and transparent regarding Committee business, decisions and actions, the minutes of the 22 May 2017 Committee Meeting are attached:

Minutes of HNCC Committee Meeting 22 May 2017

Note: The minutes of meeting were ratified by the Committee and then signed as being a true and accurate record, which procedure was enacted at the 26 June 2017 Committee meeting

Inter Club 30 – 25 June 2017

Report and times for the Inter Club 30, hosted by Hitchin Nomads CC can be found in the attached document:

HNCC IC30 Published Result Sheet 2017


Nick Senechal, fastest Nomad at the IC30.