Dave Gudgin 25 Miles TT – 26 June 2018

Event Sec: Leanne Cutler
Time Keepers: Frank Turner, Leanne Cutler, Simon Doyle
Prop: Paul Riley
Reporter: Steve Smith

Promoted for an on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under its rules and regulations

Despite the Football on the telly, >20C heat and many having ridden the Interclub 30 on Sunday, the final round of the Dave Gudgin 25 mile TT series attracted a field of 17 riders.

Looking at the times, with most riders recording an improvement over the previous round, conditions seemed to have been favourable with a light ESE wind giving slight help to and from Growers roundabout

In the Dave Gudgin Handicap competition congratulations to Catherine Jones who made a 40 second improvement to edge out Marc Diplock by 17 seconds average overall and 3rd placed Scott Horwood by 90 seconds.  Scratch competition standings to be advised.

13. Dave Gudgin Memorial Trophy
Catherine Jones wins the Dave Gudgin Memorial Trophy for 2018

Fastest on the night was guest Joe Gorman who posted a fine 57:28 to edge out fastest Nomad Nick Morgan (58:11) by 43 seconds and 3rd place Jason Stuart (58:24) by 56 seconds.  James McPherson (1:02:32) and Marc Diplock (1:03:52) rounded out the Nomads podium.  According to the Club’s Records Keeper Nigel Wilson, who knows about these things, Morgz’ time was the fastest on this course for 28 years.  Only Steve Cotton has gone faster as a Nomad.

Special mention to the winner of the best Wilson category who noted that riding a 25 incorporated into a hot, lumpy commute home was not the finest race strategy.

Your reporter resolves to get 3+ qualifying rides in the books in 2019!

Hitchin Nomads

Women: Catherine Jones 1:14:32

Men: Nick Morgan 58:11; James McPherson 1:02:32; Marc Diplock 1:03:52;
Scott Horwood 1:04:30; Chris Batt 1:06:43; Nigel Tooke 1:07:16;
Mani Manrique 1:07:49; Paul Wright 1:14:15; David Summerell 1:16:21;
Stephen Oliver 1:17:13; Steve Smith 1:17:37; Nigel Wilson 1:20:00;
Christopher Wilson 1:20:18

Private Time Trials

Joe Gorman (Stevenage CC) 57:28; Jason Stuart (CC Ashwell) 58:24; Lindz Barral (JCA-Equipe Velo) 1:02:07

Next Event

Briercliffe 10 on the classic 1U/10 course – Tuesday 3 July 19:00