Briercliffe 10 – 30 April 2019

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials – under its rules and regulations.

Principal Time Keeper and Event Secretary: Leanne Cutler
Assistant Time Keeper and Prop: Paul Riley
Club TT Secretary: Julian Pegg
Reporter: Nigel Tooke

15 Nomads and 4 guest riders took part in the final Briercliffe 10 for April, the course returning to the full distance following the previous week’s shortened version due to roadworks.

Conditions were a pleasant 16°C with a very light south-easterly wind giving gentle assistance along the Growers Road stretch and no testing headwinds on any part of the course.  Evidence of the calm evening was the sight of the Virgin hot air balloon in the sky before the start.

What better way to celebrate Honesty Day than the race of truth! (Honesty Day is celebrated on this day in the United States to encourage honesty and straightforward communication in politics, relationships, consumer relations and historical education… Ha – so that works!)

Well done to Gavin Ashfield (TSE) for the fastest ride of the evening and to Catherine Jones (HNCC) as the fastest woman rider who had a close battle with Emily Varley (HNCC).  Thomas Weir was the fastest HNCC rider in the men’s competition.

Hitchin Nomads Competition

Women: Catherine Jones 29:21; Emily Varley 29:31

Men: Thomas Weir 24:06; Marc Diplock 24:26; Andy Saunders 24:47; Steve Hughes 26:27; Nigel Tooke 26:54; Andrew Hardy 27:07; Nick Senechal 27:08; Brian Ruggles 28:38; Steve Smith 29:07; Olly Oxton 29:10; Mark Loosley 29:40; Chris Corney 30:55; Steven Oliver 31:10

Private Time Trials

Gavin Ashfield (Team 23:39; Sam Hayes (Team 24:46; Nick Hickman (Team 25:30; Bob Wright (CC Ashwell) 28:25

Next Event

19:00 Tuesday 7 May 2019 using the standard 1U/10 Briercliffe 10 course.